The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Post your Happy Stories of Good Times with Tom Brumley Here
George Piburn

The Land of Enchantment New Mexico
Post  Posted 3 Feb 2009 4:20 pm    

In my former life, pre-steel player, I was a Audio Engineer,

We had the honor of doing sound a few shows for Ricky Nelson's Stone Canyon Band with Tom on Steel of course Cool.

Tom's playing and little hands on lessons after sound checks were among the blessings that led this now player to the pedal steel. Very Happy

Please Share Your Story of a Good Memory on this thread.

Ben Lawson

Brooksville Florida
Post  Posted 3 Feb 2009 5:24 pm    

My wife Sandy amd I met Tom and Rolene at the ISGA about three years ago. We hung out and talked for a while did the usual picture taking etc. We found them both to be down home really nice people. I mentioned to Tom that we met Doyle Holly a while back and how surprised Doyle was that we had some recordings by him. Tom agreed that Doyle was just that humble. Tom and Rolene could not have been nicer to us. If the Lord chooses to take Tom I am sure he will rest eternally in Glory.

Joe Allwood

Russell, IA 50238
Post  Posted 3 Feb 2009 5:29 pm    

Tom's equally as humble. In 2003 I went to the Convention at St. Louis and met Tom and told him about my (then) seven year old son who thought Buck Owens and the Buckaroos were the hottest thing ever. Tom smiled that smile and said "Well, you tell him I said Hi!" Neither my son nor I will forget that moment.

Michael Breid

Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Post  Posted 3 Feb 2009 9:26 pm