The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Gabby's Steel Guitar
Barry Hartzell

Pa suburbs near Philly
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2005 1:43 pm    

Hi Steelers! New kid here(51 years old but sometimes still feel like a kid with music, but other times I feel much older!).

I have some pressing questions about Gabby Pahinui, and how to get that sound.

I'm very new to all this, have been playing reso and Weisse for a little while, and regular guitar for years. But, Gabby got to me with this tune from The King of Slack Key, Best of Gabby Vol 1. The song is titled Lei No Ka`iulani. Here is the link to the page on Mele.com and then the shortcut link:
http://mele.com/v3/info/609.htm
http://64.65.106.62/v3/sbits4/609_10.ram

I'm really mesmerized by this tune and the tone of his steel guitar. Any thoughts on getting this tone, with what gear-guitar, amp, tuning?

I guess I'm hooked! It just seems to happen this way with me, I hear something that really strikes a musical nerve in me, and I've got to go with it!

And, if anyone knows more of Gabby's albums or anyone else's that have more like this, with the slow, easy rythm that soothes the savage beast, please tell me. Great stuff! I like Slack Key a lot, but this hit me harder!

About the gear, sure I would like to know what Gabby used to get this sound, but I also would like to know if I can get this sound using readily available modern equipment that doesn't cost a whole lot to get started with. Any suggestions are very welcome.

Thanks for your help!

Be well, Barry
Lost in Music, Happily!

[This message was edited by Barry Hartzell on 02 June 2005 at 03:26 PM.]

Bill Leff

Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2005 1:50 pm    

Maile Serenaders!
http://mele.com/v3/info/144.htm
http://mele.com/v3/info/145.htm

Bryan Bradfield

Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada.
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2005 3:25 pm    

I didn't know that Gabby played steel guitar. I'm only familiar with his slack key playing and singing.