The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Instructors
Rick Collins

Claremont , CA USA
Post  Posted 27 May 2005 10:16 am    

Taking all kinds of courses in high school and college, I know some instructors are better than others. I taught myself to play the steel guitar. Without an instructor, I feel I've missed out on some, maybe helpful, information __ although the SGF, printed and recorded material, as well as watching and listening to other players, has been helpful.

Style is something I'm pleased to have developed on my own, But, style is one thing and knowing a variety of tunes is another. With no formal music education myself, it would seem knowing theory well and constantly reviewing it would make a big difference in one's versitility.

But, being a teacher myself (not of music), I've noticed something about other instructors: They may know the subject well, but may not necessarily be a good instructor of that same subject.

The greatest fault I've found in poor instructors is assuming the student knows a certain detail, but does not. Overlooking this fact can make an, otherwise great, teacher ineffective.

I once overheard a conversation between a good steel player and an unknown player. When asked if the good player could read music, his reply was, "yes, but I don't let it interfere with my playing".

I was just wondering if anyone has ever had a really bad teacher?

Rick

Jeff Au Hoy

Honolulu, Hawai'i
Post  Posted 27 May 2005 10:42 am    

Honestly, I don't think steel guitar playing (non pedal) has ever been at a level that you would miss out by not having an instructor. I'd say you missed out if you never listened to any records. And maybe to a lesser degree if you never spent time hanging out with other steel players.

By the way, that line about not letting music get in the way of my playing... I said that first back in 1927.

Patrick Newbery

San Francisco, California, USA
Post  Posted 27 May 2005 11:11 am    

Jeff-