The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  8 Channel Mic Pres
Michael Johnstone

Sylmar,Ca. USA
Post  Posted 12 Mar 2007 2:38 pm    

Now that I've been recording on computer for around 5 years,I'm in the process of shedding several generations of antique gear I've had since the mid 80s including a TAC Scorpion 24x16x2 that I've only been using for it's pre-amps and master channel (talk-back, 2-trk mon etc).I have 4 channels of pretty high end pres Avalon,Manley etc but I'm now in the market for a nice sounding 8 channel pre w/a bit of character that doesn't break the bank. I want something a little better than an Octopre and its ilk - something along the lines of an ONYX 800R,Presonus M-80 or even a True Precision 8 if I could find one under $2K. This unit will see a lot of use on drums and needs to be as good or better than the Amek pres in my Scorpion. Any suggestions from first hand knowledge?

James Quackenbush

Pomona, New York, USA
Post  Posted 13 Mar 2007 6:50 pm    

MJ,

I have a 4 channel Sytek that doesn't sound too bad...I have 2 normal channels that are very clean, and then 2 Burr Brown channels that are more colored...Not a bad pre for the $$ you're talking ...

A friend of mine has the True Precision 8 is a really good sounding unit with plenty of character ....Not a bad choice at all

The ATI is my favorite,with built in limiters for each channel, great sounding unit but a little bit pricier
http://www.audiotoys.com/8MX2.HTM

The Mackie stuff is clean but sterile to my ears..I'm not a big fan of the newer Makie stuff..It just doesn't do what it's suppose to do ... Take a look at their forum ...Not many happy campers ...

You could also go with (4) FMR RNP's ....They list about $500 each for a 2 channel pre, and don't sound bad at all ...