The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  NP Steelers In South Florida
Rick Alexander

Florida, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 17 Jul 2004 10:49 am    

I've been making my living playing guitar and singing for over 40 years, the last 25 of them mainly in S. Florida - Ft Lauderdale / Miami area to be exact. About 21 years ago I picked up my first steel and little by little worked it into the act. It now occurs to me that in all that time I have:

1. never seen a non pedal steel guitar, other than the ones I own (except in pictures) . .
2. never met anyone or heard of anyone else in this area who plays non pedal steel.
3. never mentioned non pedal steel without getting funny looks

Now maybe I've led a sheltered life, maybe I didn't stumble in to the right honky tonks, maybe I came too late or left too early - I really don't know.

So . . here's my question - are there any Non Pedal Steelers in either Broward or Dade County ? ?

------------------
Rick Alexander
Fender Stringmaster T8,D8, Fender Dual Professional, Fender Champion, Rickenbacker 6 String, Alkire Eharp
web site

[This message was edited by Rick Alexander on 05 March 2005 at 01:37 PM.]

Mike Neer

NJ
Post  Posted 17 Jul 2004 11:20 am    

Here's a link to some Floridian steel players.

Why not just call it "steel guitar"? No need to call it non-pedal.

Rick Alexander

Florida, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 17 Jul 2004 12:02 pm    

Thanks Mike. Unfortunately the only one on the list in my area is Neil Flanz, and he relocated to Austin a few months ago. Neil left Nashville for Austin 20 years ago but took a little detour through S. Florida. Neil is one of the best steel players in the world and I had the pleasure to work with him on numerous occasions during his time here.