The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Aloha to All
Jack Byrd

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Post  Posted 20 Apr 2005 6:47 am    

For the past few years I have been Jerry’s mouthpiece to the forum. After sending him the different threads I thought he might be interested in he usually responded with an audio tape which I transcribed and put up on the forum. It was an interesting thing to do because not only did many of you learn from his answers so did I. These many answers of his are still available in the archives by doing a search on my name. With the recent death of Jerry I no longer have the source of my information, and I therefore have very little of interest to put up on the forum and will not be monitoring the forum in the future. I am not a musician in the least and know next to nothing about playing the Hawaiian steel guitar and therefore cannot add anything of value when questioned about what Jerry did or didn’t do over the course of his musical career. He left quite a history for all. In a recent tabulation I did I was able to document the fact that he recorded over 230 different steel guitar instrumentals during his life. This does not include the many hundreds of recording he did with other artists. Along with his autobiography, he left us a great legacy of his career. So along with the book and all of his recordings there is a great wealth of his work still available for the curious to seek out. Many of his recordings can still be obtained, two or which were recently re-mastered. They are HI-FI Steel Guitar and Master Of Touch And Tone.

So with that said I want to thank the many fans of Jerry who supported him on the forum and God bless each and every one of you.

JB

Blake Hawkins

Florida
Post  Posted 20 Apr 2005 6:58 am    

Jack,
The work you have done in communicating Jerry's thoughts to us is priceless.
It was truly an act of love.
Thanks for all your understanding and patience in working with Jerry's fans.